Thomasville Times Enterprise

Local News

December 17, 2012

Local Democrats elect new officers

THOMASVILLE — At its Dec. 5 meeting, the Thomas County Democratic Committee elected new officers to serve for the next two years and discussed other business.

The new officers are Marty Haythorn, chair; Carolyn Nixon, first co-chair; Ed Marshall, second co-chair; Rev. Arthur Jones, secretary; Lakortornette Gabriel, assistant secretary; Rudolph Elzy, treasurer; and Haley Shank, State Committee representative. They will serve from January 2013 through December 2014.

“We are very excited about the new executive officers,” Elzy said, “ and I, for one, cannot wait to see them fully bring their talents to bear.”

Local Democrats hope to continue momentum gained in the recent general election.

“People know what we believe in and what we stand for,” said Elzy, the sold returning member of the local Democratic Committee. “Our platform resonates on the national level. With some hard work, we are confident that we can grow our base locally as well.”

Text Only
Local News
Business Marquee
House Ads
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
AP Video
Twitter Updates
Follow us on twitter

Do you believe President Obama's congressional opposition is fueled by racism?

     View Results
Sports Pulse
Must Read
Must Read