Thomasville Times Enterprise

Local News

January 22, 2014

SWGTC students nominated for GOAL

THOMASVILLE — Nine students at Southwest Georgia Technical College (SWGTC) were nominated by their instructors to compete for the 43rd Annual Georgia Occupational Award of Leadership (GOAL).  GOAL, which was established in 1971 by the Technical College System of Georgia (TCSG), is an award that focuses on student excellence in technical education through academic excellence and personal achievement.

According to Ellen Terrell, SWGTC GOAL Coordinator, teachers select students based on their leadership skills, academic accomplishments, career goals and personal goals.

“The GOAL program gives our College the opportunity to not only recognize our most outstanding students, but also to spotlight technical education and its impact on the state of Georgia.  Students nominated for the GOAL award not only excel academically, but they also exhibit outstanding leadership qualities,” said Terrell.

The students nominated for GOAL 2014 were Stephanie Butler (Veterinary Technology), Carrie Carter (Business Management), Kristyna Hurst (Associate of Science in Nursing), Brandy Johnson (Associate of Science in Nursing), Katherine Ley (Associate of Science in Nursing), Olivia Oglesby (Associate of Science in Nursing), Jade Marshall (Business Management), Misty Taylor (Early Childhood Care & Management), and Ron Tillman (Associate of Science in Nursing).

“The nine GOAL students who were nominated by their instructors represent some of the best students we have at SWGTC. These students have demonstrated academic excellence and leadership in the classroom and throughout their entire time here at the College.  They are all winners and we wish each and every one of them good luck in the next phase of the GOAL competition,” commented Dr. Wentworth, SWGTC president.

Last week, the nine nominees made presentations to a screening committee and were evaluated on their leadership abilities, academic achievement, knowledge of technical education, and educational and career goals. Screening committee members for 2014 were Sherry Harper, Mazie Wilson, Archie Hatcher, Len Robinson and Bob Parrish. This committee had the tough task of narrowing down the nine nominees to four finalists.

The four finalists selected for GOAL 2014 are Stephanie Butler (Veterinary Technology), Katherine Ley (Associate of Science in Nursing), Jade Marshall (Business Management), and Olivia Oglesby (Associate of Science in Nursing). These finalists will proceed to a second round of judging, and a winner for the College will be selected. This winner will be announced at the January 31st meeting of the Thomasville Kiwanis Club. 


Text Only
Local News
Business Marquee
House Ads
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
AP Video
Raw: Obama Tours Gyeongbok Palace Swimmer Michael Phelps Back in Competition Raw: Obama Lays Korean War Memorial Wreath Obama Leads Naturalization Ceremony in Seoul Calif. School Bus Crash Hurts Driver, 11 Kids Country Club for Exotic Cars Little Science Behind 'Pollen Vortex' Prediction US Proposes Pay-for-priority Internet Standards Wife Mourns Chicago Doctor Killed in Afghanistan FDA Proposes Regulations on E-cigarettes Kerry Warns Russia of Expensive New Sanctions Mideast Peace Talks Stall on Hamas Deal Cody Walker Remembers His Late Brother Paul Grieving South Korea Puts Up Yellow Ribbons Raw: Kerry Brings His Dog to Work Raw: Girls Survive Car Crash Into Their Bedroom Three U.S. Doctors Killed by Afghan Security Yankees' Pineda Suspended 10 Games for Pine Tar Colleagues Mourn Death of Doctors in Afghanistan Ukraine Launches Operation Against Insurgents
Twitter Updates
Follow us on twitter

Do you believe President Obama's congressional opposition is fueled by racism?

     View Results
Sports Pulse
Must Read
Must Read