Thomasville Times Enterprise

March 4, 2014

More hats tossed in ring

Staff report

THOMASVILLE — Candidates continue to qualify for state and local offices.

Darlene Taylor, R-Thomasville, qualified Monday to seek re-election to Georgia House seat 173. The district includes Decatur, Grady and Decatur counties.

Also on Monday, Brian McDaniel qualified as a non-partisan candidate to seek the Southern Judicial Circuit judgeship being vacated by Frank Horkan, who is retiring.

On Tuesday, Hershel Ansley, Republican incumbent Thomas County District 5 commissioner, qualified to seek re-election to the post.

Ed Marshall qualified Tuesday to seek the District 5 commission seat as an Independent. Marshall will be required to obtain signatures on a petition. The signatures must be certified by the local elections office before Marshall can qualify to seek the office. The petition will be presented to the elections office in June.

If signatures are approved, Marshall will be a candidate in the November general election.

In Grady County on Tuesday, T.D. David, incumbent District 5 Grady County commissioner, qualified to seek re-election.

Qualifying continues from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Wednesday and Thursday and from 9 a.m. to noon Friday.

The primary election is May 20.

Senior reporter Patti Dozier can be reached at (229) 226-2400, ext. 1820.