Thomasville Times Enterprise

Local News

February 1, 2013

Rick Perkins finalists announced

THOMASVILLE — Three faculty members at Southwest Georgia Technical College have been selected as finalists for the Rick Perkins Award

These finalists include Heidi Bivins (Anatomy & Physiology), Glenda Hatcher (Medical Assisting), and Chris Parrish (Business Administrative Technology).

The Rick Perkins Award for Excellence in Technical Instruction honors technical education’s most outstanding instructors. Instructors are nominated by their peers and students, and those instructors with the most nominations were selected as finalists.

“Our Rick Perkins Award nominees represent excellence in instruction at Southwest Georgia Technical College. These three instructors have been nominated by their colleagues, one of the highest honors that a faculty member can receive from their peers. I wish our three instructors good luck in the upcoming competition for Instructor of the Year and know that they will do well as they exemplify teaching excellence, innovation, and leadership,” Dr. Craig Wentworth, SWGTC President.

This award has been an ongoing, statewide event since 1991 and is designed to recognize technical college instructors who make significant contributions to technical education through innovation and leadership in their fields.

Formerly known as the Commissioner’s Award of Excellence, the Rick Perkins Award was renamed in memory and honor of Thomas “Rick” Perkins, an instructor at West Central Technical College, now West Georgia Technical College, who received the Commissioner’s Award of Excellence prior to his untimely death.

To become the state Rick Perkins Award winner, nominees go through three phases of selection: the local technical college level, the regional level, and the state level.

The state Rick Perkins Award winner serves as an ambassador for technical education in Georgia and must have made significant contributions to technical education through innovation and leadership in his or her field of instruction.

The winner must also exemplify excellence and a commitment to the mission of the Technical College System of Georgia (TCSG). The statewide winner, who will be announced at a ceremony in Atlanta, Georgia, will carry the title of the Technical College System of Georgia Instructor of the Year.

The SWGTC Rick Perkins finalists have already competed in interviews. This SWGTC winner will represent the college at the regional competition to be hosted at Moultrie Technical College (Tifton Campus) on Feb.  28.

All regional winners will compete for the TCSG Instructor of the Year title and will be announced on April 25 at the GOAL and Rick Perkins Award Ceremony.

Southwest Georgia Technical College is a unit of the Technical College System of Georgia.

Text Only
Local News
Business Marquee
House Ads
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
AP Video
US Ready to Slap New Sanctions on Russia Kerry: Not Worried About Israeli Criticism Boater Rescued From Edge of Kentucky Dam Girl Struck by Plane on Florida Beach Dies Rodents Rampant in Gardens Around Louvre House to Vote on Slimmed-down Bill for Border Looming Demand Could Undercut Flight Safety Raw: 2 Shells Hit Fuel Tank at Gaza Power Plant Raw: Massive Explosions From Airstrikes in Gaza Giant Ketchup Bottle Water Tower Up for Sale Easier Nuclear Construction Promises Fall Short Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating
Twitter Updates
Follow us on twitter

Does it bother you that the Thomasville-Thomas County Central football game won't be played for at least the next two years?

     View Results
Sports Pulse
Must Read
Must Read