Thomasville Times Enterprise

January 17, 2014

Five Night Hawks named TSC All-Stars

School report

— The Sun Conference kicks off its baseball season today with its annual All-Star Game which will feature 52 of the league’s best players, including five representatives from Thomas University.

Senior pitcher John Gainey, senior pitcher Kurtis Gens, senior outfielder Trey Griffin, junior first baseman Josh Bruijn and sophomore outfielder Jeremy Crosby were the five Night Hawks named to the North team. TU, Embry-Riddle, Southeastern, University of South Carolina-Beaufort and Webber International are the five schools that make up the North squad. The South team is made up of players from Ave Maria, Florida Memorial, Northwood, St. Thomas and Warner.

The annual event brings together the top players in the TSC to showcase the talent of student athletes in one of the premier baseball conferences in the NAIA.

TU opens its 2014 season at home Feb. 1 in a 1 p.m. doubleheader against Montreat College.