Thomasville Times Enterprise

November 29, 2013

Brookwood adds 23 to National Honor Society

Staff report

THOMASVILLE — At the traditional induction ceremony of the National Honor Society at Brookwood School on Nov. 12, new members were tapped into the organization.

 The oldest tradition at Brookwood, the ceremony is essentially the same as it was in 1973, when the school’s first NHS members were inducted.  This year, however, the event took place for the first time in the new Hines-Watt Hall. The wooden key that individual teachers place around the “tapped” student’s neck bears the name of numerous NHS members throughout the college prep school’s history. Several inductees wore keys that included the names of their alumni siblings or parents.

 Phil Danner, faculty NHS sponsor, and all current members of the Louise Jeannes Hines Chapter of the NHS, named for a prominent Brookwood founder, took part in the solemn ceremony that welcomed six seniors who qualified for membership this year: Campbell Beadles, Bailey Brewer, Ashley Green, Madison Perryman, Tyler Thompson and Zachary Walter.

Seventeen new NHS members from the junior class are: John Brewer, Julia Davis, Julianne Dennis, Madeline Eason, Garrett Austen Elmore, Rebecca Gilliland, Trent Griner, McKenzie Harrell, William Harrer, Cole Jarrett, Mary Katherine Moreton, Shivani Patel, Taylor Patterson, Christy Quinton, Andrew Saunders, Heeth Varnedoe  and Ariel Watt.