Thomasville Times Enterprise


January 5, 2013

Special election Tuesday

THOMASVILLE — Voters at 16 of Thomas County’s 20 polling places will cast ballots in Tuesday’s special election to choose a District 11 state senator.

District 11 encompasses Grady, Decatur, Seminole, Miller, Colquitt and Early counties and portions of Thomas and Mitchell counties.

Votes will be cast at Thomas County precincts, with the exception of Pavo, Barwick, Boston and Gatlin Creek, which are in Senate District 8.

The District 11 Senate seat became vacant in December upon the resignation of John Bulloch, a Thomas County Republican.

Candidates seeking the Senate seat are:

• Marshall Berman — Republican, Thomasville

• Jeffrey G. Bivins — Libertarian, Cairo

• Dean Burke — Republican, Bainbridge

• Brad Hughes — Republican, Blakely

• Mike Keown — Republican, Coolidge

• Eugene “Gene” McNease — Republican, Thomasville

See Sunday's edition for more details.

Text Only
Business Marquee
House Ads
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
AP Video
Twitter Updates
Follow us on twitter


Do you believe President Obama's congressional opposition is fueled by racism?

     View Results
NDN Video