Thomasville Times Enterprise

July 7, 2014

TEF officers announced

Staff report

THOMASVILLE — Thomasville Entertainment Foundation celebrated the start of a new concert season at a lively trustee dinner that showcased the talents of its Board members.

Soprano Rebecca Fadell, pianist Raymond Hughes, flutist Dr. Karl Barton and vocalist Melanee Hill entertained the group with a variety of music from opera to jazz.

Ad sales chairman Jeff Zoller presented awards and novelty gifts to recognize outstanding efforts by three trustees:  Mary Kathryn Sibley, (“Early Bird” award), Marilynn Rhea, (“Bucket Brigade” award) and John Glenn (“General Patton Take No Prisoners” award).

Sibley, who is currently serving her second term as president, introduced the new Executive Committee for the 2014-15 season.

Vice presidents are Frances Parker (Education), Charlotte Arnold (Box Office), Ann McCrickard (Marketing), Rick Ivey (Production), and Becky Bracey (Hospitality).

Dr. Terry Smith serves as treasurer and Carol Singletary will continue as secretary. Jeff Zoller, Ken Rebman and Linda Hester are Executive Committee members at-large.

Long-time Executive Director Janice Faircloth continues her leadership role in the organization with a new title. As Artistic Director, Faircloth will focus on developing and implementing the organization’s artistic vision and will concentrate on bringing outstanding performers to the local stage.

Joan Sowell assumes the new position of director of administration, responsible for the day-to-day operations of the organization.

“Creating these new positions is a strategic move toward greater efficiency and longevity for TEF,” Faircloth announced.

In addition to Faircloth and Sowell, the TEF Board comprises three classes of trustees, each of which is elected to serve a three-year term. Sibley graciously thanked the members of the class of 2014 for their outstanding service and welcomed the newly elected class of 2017.

The trustees who rotated off the board are Rick Carlson, John Glenn, Mary Lawrence Lang, Marilynn Rhea, Julie Spence, Bryan Watt and Sissy Williams.

New trustees serving for the first time are Burt Courtney, Pam Davis, Alice Fink, Susan O’Neal, and Sandi Shaw. Newly elected trustees Jamie Jones, Nancy McCollum, Ken Rebman and Howard Woodard are returning to the board after an absence of one or more years.

Sibley noted the significant contribution of service from community supporters such as Fred Hester, Jimmy Singletary, Ram Singletary, John Wood, Charlie and Janie Deal, Jim and Helen Carico and Linden Dunaway.

Season-ticket and single-concert ticket sales are well under way and moving briskly, Sibley said. “We have an exciting season ahead. I urge patrons to order tickets as soon as possible.”

This year, all concerts will begin at 7:30 p.m.

The season kicks off Oct. 23 with a concert featuring acclaimed pianist Warren Jones, Metropolitan Opera soprano Susanna Phillips, French hornist Eric Ralske and violinist Philip Setzer performing works by Schubert, Strauss and Brahms.

A special holiday performance takes place Nov. 20 at First Baptist Church as choral group Cantus and Theater Latté Da perform “All is Calm: The Christmas Truce of 1914.”

Winner of the 2013 Banff International String Quartet Competition, the Dover Quartet brings youthful enthusiasm to their performance on Jan. 22.

A romantic theme appropriately takes center stage Feb. 14 as the Boston Brass and Enso String Quartet present “Notes from the Balcony: Romeo and Juliet in Music.”

Legendary pianist Peter Nero pays homage to a revered American composer in the “Music of George Gershwin” slated for March 5.

Capping the season, the Australian Chamber Orchestra, under the direction of Richard Tognetti, teams with brilliant Swedish clarinetist Martin Fröst for a concert of unrivaled virtuosity.

To purchase tickets, call the TEF box office at 229-226-7404. The early-purchase discount on season tickets expires Sept. 15. All concerts except the Nov. 20 performance will take place at the Thomasville Center for the Arts.