Thomasville Times Enterprise

March 7, 2014

‘Off to the races’

Susanne Reynolds

THOMASVILLE — Qualifying for county commissions and schools board in Thomas County and Grady County ended Friday at noon.

For Thomas County, the offices that will be decided are Thomas County Commission and Thomas County Board of Education districts 1, 3, 5 and 7.

“Everyone is now in and the ballots are in place. This year we only have two challenges,” Thomas County Elections Supervisor Watlers Mays said.

Nancy Hiers, District 1 representative on the Thomas County Board of Education, will be challenged by W.B. Sales.

Unchallenged incumbents include:

• District 3 —Charles Evans

• District 5 —David Dawson

• District 7 —Kay Streets

District 5 Thomas County Commissioner Hershel Ansley will be challenged by Edward Marshall if can can obtain enough signatures to run as an Independent.

The othter incumbent qualifiers for the Thomas County Commission are

• District 1 —Merrill Baker

• District 3 —Ken Hickey  

• District 7 —Philip Brown

Mays said, “Now we are off to the races.”

In Grady County, a state court judgeship will be decided in the May 20 primary. Those seeking election to this position are Josh Bell, Todd Butler and Jami Lewis.

Drew Pyrz opted not to seek re-election to the Grady County Board of Education District 2 seat. Robbie Chaplian qualified for the seat and drew no opposition.

Dave Dumas, appointed to the Grady County Board of Education District5 seat last year, qualified for a full term with no opposition.

District 2 Grady County Commissioner Billy Poitevint has two challengers — Richard Powell and Ray Prince. Chairman T.D. David who qualified with no opposition.

Incumbent State Court Solicitor General Kevin Cauley also drew no opposition.

Georgia House District 173 Rep Darlene Taylor, a Thomasville Republican, will be opposed by Grady County’s Don Clark. Thomasville Democrat Keith L. Jenkins Sr. also qualified.

Reps. Sam Watson and Amy Carter drew no opposition in Districts 172 and 175, respectively.

In the state Senate, Republican Tim Golden declined to run against in District 8. Democrat Bikran Mohanty and Republicans Ellis Black, John P. Page and Richard David Raines are seeking the seat.

Reporter Susanne Reynolds can be reached at (229) 226-2400, ext. 1826.