With a new slate of officers and trustees to lead Thomasville Entertainment Foundation during unprecedented times, the concert-presenter organization’s board of trustees recently finalized plans for its 83rd performance season.

“We have a superb series of acclaimed artists and ensembles lined up for 2020-21, and we are optimistic about the coming season,” Executive and Artistic Director Rick Ivey said. “However, the coronavirus leaves us with a number of questions and unknowns, so we are going to move into the next season carefully, cautiously and with the safety of our audience, our artists, our volunteers and our technical support people at the forefront of every decision we make.”

As TEF officials continue to monitor updates and guidelines from state and federal health officials, they are also participating in virtual meetings of performing arts groups and presenter organizations to analyze best practices and solutions to the challenges presented by COVID-19.

TEF trustees approved an adjusted schedule, which includes delaying the series announcement and season ticket renewals to mid-July, with new season subscriptions available in early August.

“For more than 80 years, Thomasville Entertainment Foundation has been a quality-of-life stalwart in this community, bringing renowned artists and ensembles to Thomasville through depressions, recessions, natural disasters and even World War II,” Ivey added. “Our longtime supporters and patrons will see some necessary changes in the way we present our concerts in the coming season, and we may experience some unavoidable cancellations or postponements, but we remain as committed to our mission as ever.”

Charlotte Arnold began her service on May 1 as TEF president for 2020-21, working with vice presidents Barbara Lee (Education), Ann Larson (Box Office), Karl Barton (Production), Melissa McMillan (Hospitality) and Nadia Watts (Marketing). Linda Tarver serves as secretary and Rita Amisson as treasurer. Executive Committee members-at-large are Peggy Brady, Adam Carvin and Ginny LeGette.

Ivey implements the artistic vision and curates TEF’s concert and family series programming, while Director of Administration Joan Sowell oversees day-to-day operations.

Thomasville Entertainment Foundation’s all-volunteer board comprises trustees elected to serve three-year terms. Newly elected trustees for the Class of 2023 are Pat Beaty, Peggy Brady, Eugenia Harris, Mary Jane McNeill, Don Mobley and Robin Wise. Trustees re-elected for a second consecutive three-year term for the Class of 2023 are Sherrie Callaway, John Hand, Barbara Lee, Mary Kathryn Sibley, Carol Singletary and Pam Wright. Janet Noyes was elected to fill an unexpired term within the Class of 2021.

At its May 28 board meeting, outgoing President Charlotte Brown was recognized for her leadership over the past two years. During her term, TEF completed its long-term strategic plan and welcomed a new artistic leader. Past-President Mary Kathryn Sibley inducted Brown into the Order of Chantilly, an honor bestowed on former TEF presidents since the early days of the organization. 

Trustees leaving the board included Brown, Pam Davis, Jamie Jones, Sandi Shaw, Scott Sterling and Howard Woodard.

Established in 1937, Thomasville Entertainment Foundation is a volunteer-powered, non-profit organization celebrating more than 80 years of entertaining the community. In addition to presenting concerts by acclaimed artists, TEF offers a dedicated family series of performances geared to families and younger children, provides educational outreach programs for students and awards performing arts scholarships and grants to promising young artists.


Recommended for you