THOMASVILLE — Thomas County Sheriff Carlton Powell drew a opponent Friday for the November election on the final day of the candidate qualifying period.

Thomasville resident Joey Blackburn submitted his name as a Republican challenger to Powell, who will run for reelection as a Democrat. With the two candidates unchallenged in their respective May 19 primaries, Thomas County voters will have to wait until Nov. 3 to determine a victor.

Also running this year will be Thomas County District 2 commissioner Moses Gross, a Democrat who will face off against Republican challenger Marshall Berman in the November election. Gross' fellow commissioners Mark A. NeSmith, Wiley Grady and Zippy Vonier will be unchallenged.

Adam Cox qualified to run for the District 4 school board seat currently held by Derwood Hickey, who did not qualify. Cox will be unchallenged in the election.

Incumbent school board members Dan Stewart and Mark Nesmith will be uncontested in their own reelection bids.

Other incumbent constitutional officers who will be unchallenged include coroner Donald Shiver, tax commissioner Alicia Hester, clerk of superior court Randa Wharton, probate judge Vickie Burnett, state court judge Mark Mitchell, chief magistrate Andry Seery and solicitor general Andrew Pope.

Trending Video

Recommended for you