Thomas County Central High School players were named to eight spots on the all-Region 1-AAAA football first team, and Cairo had also had eight spots.

Making the first team from Thomas County Central were senior offensive lineman Dehkariez Ivey and senior utility player Kai Brown. Sophomore wide receiver Adam Hopkins, who had 387 yards receiving and six touchdowns on 29 catches, was named to the first team, as was offensive all-purpose pick Tykeem Wallace. Wallace, who had 720 total all-purpose yards and 12 TDs, also was named the region first-team return specialist. 

Wallace, a senior, also was named a first-team all-region defensive back. Sophomore Gabe Harris had two sacks and 2.5 tackles for loss in getting named to the first team, and senior linebacker Jordan Jones, with a team-high 89 tackles, was named to the first team.

Senior Tay Solomon, who rushed for 741 yards and 10 touchdowns, led Cairo’s offensive contingent. Linemen Brandon McClendon and Jayven Jenkins also were chosen to the first team.

Senior defensive lineman Ty Glenn was a first-team pick for the Syrupmakers, as were junior linebacker Gary Davis and senior John Carter, a defensive all-purpose selection.

Cairo’s Noah Jones was the first team punter and placekicker. He was 14-of-16 on point after attempts and 12-of-16 field goals, including a long of 54 yards. Eighteen of his 26 kickoffs went for touchbacks. He averaged 42.5 yards per punt, with 12 going inside the 20-yard line. 

Three Yellow Jackets made the second team — junior offensive lineman Donna Golson, senior wide receiver D.J. Walden and senior running back Dondell Green.

Cairo placed four players on the second team — sophomore wide receiver Tyree Kelly, senior linebacker Ricky Walker and senior defensive backs Tequan Lattimore and Jeffrey Jones. 

Honorable mentions went to Thomas County Central offensive lineman Issac Franklin, linebacker Jaylon Robinson, defensive linemen Javion Revels and Marcus Christian and defensive back Persean Taylor. Cairo placed quarterback Kevin Speed, offensive all-purpose player Sam Harris, linebacker Raylen Brown and defensive linemen Dorian Thomas and Jalen Davis on the honorable mention list. 

Bainbridge swept the top honors, with Jeff Littleton named coach of the year and Rashad Broadnax the region most valuable player. Bainbridge quarterback Quayde Hawkins was named offensive MVP and Bearcats linebacker Tahari Tate was named defensive MVP.

Trending Video

Recommended for you