The Thomasville-Thomas County Sports Hall of Fame will induct six new members at its upcoming banquet on Thursday.  Class of 2019 inductees are: Dr. James R. (Robin) Hines Jr., Pam Palmer Little, Mike Owens, Mike Pack, Joe Peeples, and Todd Williams. 

The 26th annual banquet will take place on Thursday at 7 p.m. at the Thomasville High School Cafeteria. Tickets are $20 each and can be purchased at the YMCA.

In addition to the six inductees, the Hall of Fame will recognize student-athletes of the year from each of the area schools. Students are selected by their coaches and athletic directors based on athletic accomplishments, character, leadership abilities and community involvement.  

Athletes of the year are:  

Holland Walker and Jacob Hilson — Brookwood; Lindsay Tillman and Maylon Cochran — Thomasville High; Bryce Barwick and Chandler Craven — TCCHS; Kiana Ocasio-Molina and Ben McFarlane-Barnes —Thomas University.  

The Sports Hall of Fame started in 1994. Its purpose is to recognize outstanding local athletes, coaches, officials, and people who have made major contributions to the sports tradition of Thomasville and Thomas County. In honoring recipients worthy of this recognition, the inductees must possess lifestyles which identify each as a positive role model for the youth of our community, in addition to excelling in their particular athletic environment. Proceeds from the event support the Thomasville YMCA’s mission of service to the youth sports programs of the community.

Recommended for you